University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama · Public
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical Alabama high-school graduate (about $32,204 a year). 1 falls short.
36 of 58 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 22 have no earnings published. The 124 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$18,749 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$18,749 a year
About $74,996 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $16,172 |
| $30k to $48k | $15,500 |
| $48k to $75k | $19,161 |
| $75k to $110k | $21,805 |
| $110k and up | $22,597 |
| All families (average) | $18,749 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical Alabama high-school graduate ($32,204 a year).
71 of 182 programs could be assessed 39% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nursing | Master's Degree | $115,581 | +$83,377 | above HS line | $41,000 | 0.5 yrs | 588 |
| Business Administration | Master's Degree | $108,063 | +$75,859 | above HS line | $34,459 | 0.5 yrs | 384 |
| Nursing | Bachelor's Degree | $78,224 | +$46,020 | clears the bar | $18,000 | 0.4 yrs | 363 |
| Public Health | Master's Degree | $91,073 | +$58,869 | above HS line | $32,000 | 0.5 yrs | 277 |
| Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | $46,369 | +$14,165 | clears the bar | $21,868 | 1.5 yrs | 251 |
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | $55,174 | +$22,970 | clears the bar | $21,250 | 0.9 yrs | 236 |
| Medicine | First Professional Degree | $112,084 | +$79,880 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 168 |
| Engineering, General | Master's Degree | $118,501 | +$86,297 | above HS line | $34,166 | 0.4 yrs | 166 |
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $63,036 | +$30,832 | clears the bar | $24,000 | 0.8 yrs | 134 |
| Biology | Master's Degree | $57,581 | +$25,377 | above HS line | $30,750 | 1.2 yrs | 133 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Bachelor's Degree | $52,435 | +$20,231 | clears the bar | $22,500 | 1.1 yrs | 127 |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | $69,201 | +$36,997 | clears the bar | $27,000 | 0.7 yrs | 127 |
| Public Health | Bachelor's Degree | $44,398 | +$12,194 | clears the bar | $25,000 | 2.1 yrs | 110 |
| Marketing | Bachelor's Degree | $56,591 | +$24,387 | clears the bar | $22,072 | 0.9 yrs | 98 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Bachelor's Degree | $45,714 | +$13,510 | clears the bar | $21,614 | 1.6 yrs | 97 |
| Healthcare Administration | Master's Degree | $136,395 | +$104,191 | above HS line | $41,000 | 0.4 yrs | 95 |
| Finance | Bachelor's Degree | $66,980 | +$34,776 | clears the bar | $19,000 | 0.5 yrs | 94 |
| Healthcare Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $53,021 | +$20,817 | clears the bar | $25,125 | 1.2 yrs | 93 |
| Criminal Justice | Bachelor's Degree | $51,643 | +$19,439 | clears the bar | $21,500 | 1.1 yrs | 91 |
| Computer and Information Science | Bachelor's Degree | $104,654 | +$72,450 | clears the bar | $20,750 | 0.3 yrs | 87 |
| Communications and Media | Bachelor's Degree | $44,461 | +$12,257 | clears the bar | $21,360 | 1.7 yrs | 79 |
| Dentistry | First Professional Degree | $162,018 | +$129,814 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 79 |
| Public Health | Graduate/Professional Certificate | $140,663 | +$108,459 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 75 |
| Allied Health Diagnostics and Treatment | Master's Degree | $114,503 | +$82,299 | above HS line | $109,751 | 1.3 yrs | 71 |
| Accounting | Master's Degree | $84,420 | +$52,216 | above HS line | $29,751 | 0.6 yrs | 69 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Bachelor's Degree | $49,139 | +$16,935 | clears the bar | $28,267 | 1.7 yrs | 61 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | Master's Degree | $69,535 | +$37,331 | above HS line | $67,010 | 1.8 yrs | 61 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | $60,318 | +$28,114 | clears the bar | $26,000 | 0.9 yrs | 60 |
| Management Information Systems | Bachelor's Degree | $79,843 | +$47,639 | clears the bar | $26,000 | 0.5 yrs | 59 |
| Fine Arts | Bachelor's Degree | $43,138 | +$10,934 | clears the bar | $23,437 | 2.1 yrs | 56 |
| Biomedical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | $90,415 | +$58,211 | clears the bar | $22,676 | 0.4 yrs | 51 |
| Management Information Systems | Master's Degree | $103,679 | +$71,475 | above HS line | $40,861 | 0.6 yrs | 47 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | $48,565 | +$16,361 | clears the bar | $20,750 | 1.3 yrs | 45 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | $48,706 | +$16,502 | clears the bar | $22,373 | 1.4 yrs | 44 |
| Human Resources | Bachelor's Degree | $61,781 | +$29,577 | clears the bar | $22,375 | 0.8 yrs | 44 |
| Mental Health and Counseling Services | Master's Degree | $61,956 | +$29,752 | above HS line | $37,866 | 1.3 yrs | 43 |
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | $44,493 | +$12,289 | clears the bar | $19,500 | 1.6 yrs | 40 |
| Optometry | First Professional Degree | $145,890 | +$113,686 | above HS line | $164,956 | 1.5 yrs | 40 |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | Master's Degree | $60,577 | +$28,373 | above HS line | $26,603 | 0.9 yrs | 40 |
| Social Work | Bachelor's Degree | $47,791 | +$15,587 | clears the bar | $24,990 | 1.6 yrs | 39 |
| Civil Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | $78,054 | +$45,850 | clears the bar | $25,750 | 0.6 yrs | 37 |
| Electrical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | $90,089 | +$57,885 | clears the bar | $23,362 | 0.4 yrs | 37 |
| Mechanical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | $89,589 | +$57,385 | clears the bar | $20,250 | 0.4 yrs | 35 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Master's Degree | $56,131 | +$23,927 | above HS line | $30,750 | 1.3 yrs | 34 |
| Student Counseling and Personnel Services | Master's Degree | $56,116 | +$23,912 | above HS line | $47,260 | 2.0 yrs | 33 |
| IT Administration and Management | Master's Degree | $117,049 | +$84,845 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 32 |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | Master's Degree | $56,607 | +$24,403 | above HS line | $15,350 | 0.6 yrs | 28 |
| Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and Research | Master's Degree | $60,351 | +$28,147 | above HS line | $27,330 | 1.0 yrs | 26 |
| Theatre | Bachelor's Degree | $37,173 | +$4,969 | clears the bar | $24,784 | 5.0 yrs | 26 |
| Public Administration | Master's Degree | $61,916 | +$29,712 | above HS line | $36,487 | 1.2 yrs | 23 |
| Biotechnology | Master's Degree | $65,277 | +$33,073 | above HS line | $20,500 | 0.6 yrs | 22 |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | $40,148 | +$7,944 | clears the bar | $26,500 | 3.3 yrs | 22 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | Master's Degree | $69,427 | +$37,223 | above HS line | $50,980 | 1.4 yrs | 22 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Master's Degree | $59,945 | +$27,741 | above HS line | $23,875 | 0.9 yrs | 21 |
| Educational Administration | Graduate/Professional Certificate | $76,117 | +$43,913 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 20 |
| Anthropology | Bachelor's Degree | $31,991 | -$213 | falls short | $21,500 | no earnings gain | 18 |
| Sociology | Master's Degree | $68,281 | +$36,077 | above HS line | $34,166 | 0.9 yrs | 18 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | $57,453 | +$25,249 | clears the bar | $23,571 | 0.9 yrs | 15 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | $41,768 | +$9,564 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Educational Administration | Master's Degree | $79,074 | +$46,870 | above HS line | $30,750 | 0.7 yrs | 14 |
| Materials Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | $83,985 | +$51,781 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Special Education | Master's Degree | $58,157 | +$25,953 | above HS line | $37,000 | 1.4 yrs | 12 |
| Psychology | Doctoral Degree | $85,091 | +$52,887 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Social Sciences, Other | Bachelor's Degree | $47,004 | +$14,800 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Communications and Media | Master's Degree | $54,662 | +$22,458 | above HS line | $34,167 | 1.5 yrs | 11 |
| Dental Assisting and Hygiene | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $36,787 | +$4,583 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Nursing | Doctoral Degree | $141,379 | +$109,175 | above HS line | $48,950 | 0.4 yrs | 10 |
| Education | Graduate/Professional Certificate | $78,653 | +$46,449 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Systems Science and Theory | Master's Degree | $124,712 | +$92,508 | above HS line | $35,696 | 0.4 yrs | 8 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | Doctoral Degree | $80,699 | +$48,495 | above HS line | $89,010 | 1.8 yrs | 4 |
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | Bachelor's Degree | $76,648 | +$44,444 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | not published |
| Nursing | First Professional Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 167 |
| Computer and Information Science | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 121 |
| Neuroscience | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | $18,625 | not assessed | 112 |
| Information Science | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 77 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | First Professional Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 74 |
| Management Information Systems | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 31 |
| General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 28 |
| Genetics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 26 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 25 |
| Mental Health and Counseling Services | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 23 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 19 |
| Healthcare Administration | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 19 |
| Security Science and Technology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 18 |
| Business Administration | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 18 |
| Electrical and Computer Engineering | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 17 |
| Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 17 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 16 |
| Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 16 |
| Curriculum and Instruction | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Philosophy | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Accounting | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Public Administration | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Civil Engineering | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Mathematics | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Security Science and Technology | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Health Sciences | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | $24,125 | not assessed | 12 |
| Management Information Systems | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Mechanical Engineering | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Psychology | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Health Sciences | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Health Sciences | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Business/Managerial Economics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Engineering, Other | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Physics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Neuroscience | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Physics | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Social Sciences | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| English | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Biotechnology | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Biomedical Engineering | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Nutrition Sciences | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Criminal Justice | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Anthropology | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Healthcare Administration | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Physics | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Student Counseling and Personnel Services | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Materials Engineering | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Chemistry | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Biomedical Engineering | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Computer Engineering | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Applied Mathematics | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Intercultural/Multicultural and Diversity Studies | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| History | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Biology | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Genetics | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Computer and Information Science | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Education | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Educational Administration | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Engineering, General | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Civil Engineering | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Materials Engineering | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Statistics | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Science, Technology and Society | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Sociology | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Fine Arts | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Public Health | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Business Administration | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Marketing | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| IT Administration and Management | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Special Education | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Engineering, Other | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Biology | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Chemistry | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Materials Sciences | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Public Health | First Professional Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Construction Engineering | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Pharmacology and Toxicology | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Systems Science and Theory | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Science Technologies/Technicians, General | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Mental Health and Counseling Services | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Marketing | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Electrical Engineering | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Molecular Medicine | Doctoral Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other | Doctoral Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Nutrition Sciences | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dentistry | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dentistry | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral Sciences | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Every program, including those without a verdict: download all 182 (CSV).
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $32,204 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology