Virginia State University
Petersburg, Virginia · Public
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical Virginia high-school graduate (about $36,613 a year).
19 of 40 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 21 have no earnings published. The 27 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$15,840 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$15,840 a year
About $63,360 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $13,220 |
| $30k to $48k | $14,758 |
| $48k to $75k | $19,463 |
| $75k to $110k | $22,223 |
| $110k and up | $25,508 |
| All families (average) | $15,840 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical Virginia high-school graduate ($36,613 a year).
24 of 67 programs could be assessed 36% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | $37,861 | +$1,248 | clears the bar | $26,000 | 20.8 yrs | 76 |
| Criminal Justice | Bachelor's Degree | $48,624 | +$12,011 | clears the bar | $28,375 | 2.4 yrs | 68 |
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $49,764 | +$13,151 | clears the bar | $26,250 | 2.0 yrs | 51 |
| Communications and Media | Bachelor's Degree | $40,896 | +$4,283 | clears the bar | $27,000 | 6.3 yrs | 49 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Bachelor's Degree | $48,362 | +$11,749 | clears the bar | $27,524 | 2.3 yrs | 41 |
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | $53,398 | +$16,785 | clears the bar | $26,000 | 1.5 yrs | 29 |
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | $44,002 | +$7,389 | clears the bar | $27,000 | 3.7 yrs | 24 |
| Marketing | Bachelor's Degree | $53,709 | +$17,096 | clears the bar | $26,000 | 1.5 yrs | 22 |
| Educational Administration | Doctoral Degree | $94,2201-year earnings | +$57,607 | above HS line (1-yr) | not published | not assessed | 20 |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians | Bachelor's Degree | $80,902 | +$44,289 | clears the bar | $27,000 | 0.6 yrs | 20 |
| Social Work | Bachelor's Degree | $49,615 | +$13,002 | clears the bar | $28,281 | 2.2 yrs | 20 |
| Student Counseling and Personnel Services | Master's Degree | $66,322 | +$29,709 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 18 |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | $72,375 | +$35,762 | clears the bar | $26,000 | 0.7 yrs | 18 |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | $40,432 | +$3,819 | clears the bar | $30,000 | 7.9 yrs | 15 |
| Agriculture, General | Bachelor's Degree | $48,778 | +$12,165 | clears the bar | $25,500 | 2.1 yrs | 14 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Bachelor's Degree | $50,015 | +$13,402 | clears the bar | $27,000 | 2.0 yrs | 14 |
| Hospitality Management | Bachelor's Degree | $56,476 | +$19,863 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Management Information Systems | Bachelor's Degree | $72,734 | +$36,121 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Graduate/Professional Certificate | $74,873 | +$38,260 | above HS line | $21,500 | 0.6 yrs | 8 |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Master's Degree | $54,395 | +$17,782 | above HS line | $43,707 | 2.5 yrs | 8 |
| Family and Consumer Economics and Related Studies | Bachelor's Degree | $46,514 | +$9,901 | clears the bar | $28,500 | 2.9 yrs | 7 |
| Business/Managerial Economics | Master's Degree | $56,2641-year earnings | +$19,651 | above HS line (1-yr) | $45,870 | 2.3 yrs | 2 |
| Computer and Information Science | Bachelor's Degree | $60,276 | +$23,663 | clears the bar | $24,615 | 1.0 yrs | not published |
| Computer Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Bachelor's Degree | $89,702 | +$53,089 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | not published |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 27 |
| Educational Administration | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 24 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | $31,000 | not assessed | 17 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Computer Science | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 13 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Computer Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, General | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Clinical and Counseling Psychology | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Criminal Justice | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Nursing | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Curriculum and Instruction | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Manufacturing Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Psychology | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Mathematics | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Business/Managerial Economics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Special Education | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Biology | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| International Agriculture | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Information Science | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Educational Administration | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Social Work | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Computer and Information Science | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Information Science | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Basic Skills and Developmental/Remedial Education | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $36,613 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology