Virginia Western Community College
Roanoke, Virginia · Public
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical Virginia high-school graduate (about $36,613 a year). 5 fall short.
25 of 61 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 36: 25 with no earnings published and 11 with nothing reported. 1 verdict uses 1-year earnings, an earlier career stage.
Average net price, all families$4,966 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$4,966 a year
About $4,966 over 1 year, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $4,105 |
| $30k to $48k | $4,770 |
| $48k to $75k | $5,332 |
| $75k to $110k | $7,206 |
| $110k and up | $10,786 |
| All families (average) | $4,966 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical Virginia high-school graduate ($36,613 a year).
25 of 61 programs could be assessed 41% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $42,073 | +$5,460 | clears the bar | $9,799 | 1.8 yrs | 113 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Associate's Degree | $41,248 | +$4,635 | clears the bar | $9,799 | 2.1 yrs | 94 |
| Business Administration | Associate's Degree | $42,202 | +$5,589 | clears the bar | $10,875 | 1.9 yrs | 82 |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | Associate's Degree | $47,601 | +$10,988 | clears the bar | $6,000 | 0.5 yrs | 69 |
| Social Sciences | Associate's Degree | $38,545 | +$1,932 | clears the bar | $9,346 | 4.8 yrs | 53 |
| Nursing | Associate's Degree | $71,142 | +$34,529 | clears the bar | $12,789 | 0.4 yrs | 48 |
| Healthcare Administration | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $40,327 | +$3,714 | clears the bar | $14,670 | 3.9 yrs | 41 |
| Allied Health Diagnostics and Treatment | Associate's Degree | $65,088 | +$28,475 | clears the bar | $12,000 | 0.4 yrs | 40 |
| Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $54,928 | +$18,315 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 36 |
| HVAC Technology | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $50,813 | +$14,200 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 29 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $36,697 | +$84 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 29 |
| Dental Assisting and Hygiene | Associate's Degree | $72,417 | +$35,804 | clears the bar | $9,091 | 0.3 yrs | 27 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | Associate's Degree | $67,524 | +$30,911 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 26 |
| Engineering, General | Associate's Degree | $74,206 | +$37,593 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 25 |
| Precision Metalworking | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $53,278 | +$16,665 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 25 |
| Electrician Training | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $49,602 | +$12,989 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 23 |
| Mental Health and Counseling Services | Associate's Degree | $28,573 | -$8,040 | falls short | not published | not assessed | 23 |
| Computer and Information Science | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $43,004 | +$6,391 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 19 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $30,845 | -$5,768 | falls short | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Culinary Arts | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $32,240 | -$4,373 | falls short | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Auto Repair Technology | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $44,073 | +$7,460 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Practical and Vocational Nursing | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $61,639 | +$25,026 | clears the bar | $19,039 | 0.8 yrs | 12 |
| Design | Associate's Degree | $31,4401-year earnings | -$5,173 | falls short (1-yr) | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Criminal Justice | Associate's Degree | $36,760 | +$147 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Culinary Arts | Associate's Degree | $32,513 | -$4,100 | falls short | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Mental Health and Counseling Services | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 46 |
| Administrative and Office Support | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 25 |
| Computer and Information Science | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 23 |
| Nursing | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 20 |
| Criminal Justice | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 18 |
| Administrative and Office Support | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 18 |
| Allied Health Diagnostics and Treatment | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 17 |
| Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Legal Support Services | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Business Administration | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Human Development and Family Studies | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Construction Trades, General | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Accounting | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Legal Support Services | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Medical Assisting | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Dental Assisting and Hygiene | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Biology/Biotechnology Technologies/Technicians | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Hospitality Management | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Engineering, General | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Medical Assisting | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Accounting | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Computer Programming | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| IT Administration and Management | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Natural Sciences | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Homeland Security | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $36,613 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology