Southwest Minnesota State University
Marshall, Minnesota · Public
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical Minnesota high-school graduate (about $37,835 a year). 1 falls short.
13 of 59 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 46: 45 with no earnings published and 1 with nothing reported. 3 verdicts use 1-year earnings, an earlier career stage. The 15 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$15,291 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$15,291 a year
About $61,164 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $10,559 |
| $30k to $48k | $11,175 |
| $48k to $75k | $13,153 |
| $75k to $110k | $18,283 |
| $110k and up | $20,701 |
| All families (average) | $15,291 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical Minnesota high-school graduate ($37,835 a year).
16 of 74 programs could be assessed 22% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Education | Master's Degree | $60,873 | +$23,038 | above HS line | $17,448 | 0.8 yrs | 99 |
| Nursing | Bachelor's Degree | $83,735 | +$45,900 | clears the bar | $13,875 | 0.3 yrs | 70 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Bachelor's Degree | $43,904 | +$6,069 | clears the bar | $21,977 | 3.6 yrs | 42 |
| Business Administration | Master's Degree | $68,009 | +$30,174 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 41 |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Bachelor's Degree | $54,554 | +$16,719 | clears the bar | $18,000 | 1.1 yrs | 38 |
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $55,559 | +$17,724 | clears the bar | $20,500 | 1.2 yrs | 38 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Bachelor's Degree | $47,219 | +$9,384 | clears the bar | $29,000 | 3.1 yrs | 24 |
| Special Education | Bachelor's Degree | $44,5101-year earnings | +$6,675 | clears the bar (1-yr) | $24,883 | 3.7 yrs | 21 |
| Social Work | Bachelor's Degree | $45,467 | +$7,632 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | $47,249 | +$9,414 | clears the bar | $25,125 | 2.7 yrs | 14 |
| Criminal Justice | Bachelor's Degree | $64,654 | +$26,819 | clears the bar | $26,000 | 1.0 yrs | 14 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Master's Degree | $67,751 | +$29,916 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 13 |
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | $31,7651-year earnings | -$6,070 | falls short (1-yr) | $23,500 | no earnings gain | 13 |
| Finance | Bachelor's Degree | $59,824 | +$21,989 | clears the bar | $21,500 | 1.0 yrs | 11 |
| Marketing | Bachelor's Degree | $58,574 | +$20,739 | clears the bar | $19,747 | 1.0 yrs | 11 |
| Agricultural Business and Management | Bachelor's Degree | $49,5211-year earnings | +$11,686 | clears the bar (1-yr) | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Educational Administration | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 25 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 20 |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 16 |
| Education | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Fine Arts | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Special Education | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Clinical and Counseling Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Theatre | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Natural Resources and Conservation | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Communications and Media | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Radio, TV and Digital Media | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Hospitality Management | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Plant Sciences | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Culinary Arts | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Agricultural Public Services | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Applied Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Philosophy | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Accounting | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Human Resources | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Agricultural Business and Management | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Computer and Information Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| IT Administration and Management | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| IT Administration and Management | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Education | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Educational/Instructional Media Design | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Special Education | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Literature | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Business Administration | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Business Administration | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Accounting | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Hospitality Management | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Marketing | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Marketing | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Education | Non-Credential Program (Preparatory Coursework/Teacher Certification) | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Educational Administration | First Professional Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $37,835 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology