Southern University and A & M College
Baton Rouge, Louisiana · Public
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical Louisiana high-school graduate (about $34,350 a year). 1 falls short.
18 of 31 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 13: 12 with no earnings published and 1 with nothing reported. 1 verdict uses 1-year earnings, an earlier career stage. The 27 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$20,077 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$20,077 a year
About $80,308 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $19,047 |
| $30k to $48k | $19,395 |
| $48k to $75k | $22,288 |
| $75k to $110k | $25,292 |
| $110k and up | $26,069 |
| All families (average) | $20,077 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical Louisiana high-school graduate ($34,350 a year).
25 of 58 programs could be assessed 43% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Law | First Professional Degree | $67,462 | +$33,112 | above HS line | $118,010 | 3.6 yrs | 184 |
| Nursing | Bachelor's Degree | $86,838 | +$52,488 | clears the bar | $31,000 | 0.6 yrs | 80 |
| Criminal Justice | Bachelor's Degree | $49,609 | +$15,259 | clears the bar | $27,125 | 1.8 yrs | 75 |
| Business Administration | Master's Degree | $73,081 | +$38,731 | above HS line | $49,378 | 1.3 yrs | 50 |
| Communications and Media | Bachelor's Degree | $48,264 | +$13,914 | clears the bar | $27,000 | 1.9 yrs | 42 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | Bachelor's Degree | $50,616 | +$16,266 | clears the bar | $36,603 | 2.3 yrs | 40 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | Bachelor's Degree | $41,311 | +$6,961 | clears the bar | $35,071 | 5.0 yrs | 40 |
| Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | $41,901 | +$7,551 | clears the bar | $31,000 | 4.1 yrs | 37 |
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $48,716 | +$14,366 | clears the bar | $28,750 | 2.0 yrs | 30 |
| Agriculture, General | Bachelor's Degree | $30,8651-year earnings | -$3,485 | falls short (1-yr) | $26,514 | no earnings gain | 28 |
| Communication Disorders | Master's Degree | $64,924 | +$30,574 | above HS line | $47,498 | 1.6 yrs | 24 |
| Mechanical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | $92,969 | +$58,619 | clears the bar | $28,437 | 0.5 yrs | 19 |
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | $44,880 | +$10,530 | clears the bar | $29,067 | 2.8 yrs | 19 |
| Public Administration | Master's Degree | $55,482 | +$21,132 | above HS line | $45,137 | 2.1 yrs | 19 |
| Criminal Justice | Master's Degree | $56,111 | +$21,761 | above HS line | $36,250 | 1.7 yrs | 18 |
| Social Work | Bachelor's Degree | $52,217 | +$17,867 | clears the bar | $30,000 | 1.7 yrs | 18 |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | $58,951 | +$24,601 | clears the bar | $28,750 | 1.2 yrs | 16 |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | $43,844 | +$9,494 | clears the bar | $29,216 | 3.1 yrs | 16 |
| Nursing | Master's Degree | $120,049 | +$85,699 | above HS line | $41,000 | 0.5 yrs | 16 |
| Marketing | Bachelor's Degree | $56,097 | +$21,747 | clears the bar | $27,000 | 1.2 yrs | 15 |
| Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General | Bachelor's Degree | $48,596 | +$14,246 | clears the bar | $33,458 | 2.3 yrs | 14 |
| Civil Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | $68,016 | +$33,666 | clears the bar | $31,125 | 0.9 yrs | 12 |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | $53,159 | +$18,809 | clears the bar | $25,250 | 1.3 yrs | 12 |
| Clinical and Counseling Psychology | Master's Degree | $49,918 | +$15,568 | above HS line | $67,308 | 4.3 yrs | 11 |
| Communication Disorders | Bachelor's Degree | $51,611 | +$17,261 | clears the bar | $35,124 | 2.0 yrs | 6 |
| Computer Science | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 69 |
| Public Policy Analysis | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 26 |
| Forestry | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 16 |
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | $27,000 | not assessed | 16 |
| Finance | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Electrical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 13 |
| Nursing | First Professional Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Biology | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Social Sciences | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Forestry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Educational Administration | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Engineering, General | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Forestry | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Mathematics | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Special Education | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Pharmacology and Toxicology | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Nursing | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Business Administration | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Hospitality Management | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mental Health and Counseling Services | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $34,350 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology