Alabama State University
Montgomery, Alabama · Public
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical Alabama high-school graduate (about $32,204 a year). 1 falls short.
13 of 31 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 18: 17 with no earnings published and 1 with nothing reported. The 23 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$20,435 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$20,435 a year
About $81,740 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $19,711 |
| $30k to $48k | $21,682 |
| $48k to $75k | $21,508 |
| $75k to $110k | $21,608 |
| $110k and up | $19,031 |
| All families (average) | $20,435 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical Alabama high-school graduate ($32,204 a year).
18 of 54 programs could be assessed 33% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | $46,370 | +$14,166 | clears the bar | $31,000 | 2.2 yrs | 57 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | Bachelor's Degree | $37,576 | +$5,372 | clears the bar | $22,388 | 4.2 yrs | 41 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | Master's Degree | $73,076 | +$40,872 | above HS line | $54,592 | 1.3 yrs | 39 |
| Criminal Justice | Bachelor's Degree | $45,173 | +$12,969 | clears the bar | $31,000 | 2.4 yrs | 36 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | Bachelor's Degree | $40,152 | +$7,948 | clears the bar | $32,750 | 4.1 yrs | 31 |
| Social Work | Bachelor's Degree | $43,661 | +$11,457 | clears the bar | $33,188 | 2.9 yrs | 28 |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | $63,070 | +$30,866 | clears the bar | $30,000 | 1.0 yrs | 28 |
| Communications and Media | Bachelor's Degree | $38,566 | +$6,362 | clears the bar | $32,250 | 5.1 yrs | 26 |
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $46,126 | +$13,922 | clears the bar | $31,187 | 2.2 yrs | 23 |
| Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | $41,766 | +$9,562 | clears the bar | $31,000 | 3.2 yrs | 21 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Bachelor's Degree | $51,014 | +$18,810 | clears the bar | $32,250 | 1.7 yrs | 19 |
| Information Science | Bachelor's Degree | $53,416 | +$21,212 | clears the bar | $32,500 | 1.5 yrs | 17 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Bachelor's Degree | $46,629 | +$14,425 | clears the bar | $50,215 | 3.5 yrs | 15 |
| Accounting | Master's Degree | $59,3351-year earnings | +$27,131 | above HS line (1-yr) | $19,383 | 0.7 yrs | 13 |
| Theatre | Bachelor's Degree | $29,142 | -$3,062 | falls short | $29,000 | no earnings gain | 11 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Master's Degree | $61,410 | +$29,206 | above HS line | $50,483 | 1.7 yrs | 8 |
| Social Work | Master's Degree | $49,696 | +$17,492 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | Doctoral Degree | $92,091 | +$59,887 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | not published |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | First Professional Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 22 |
| IT Administration and Management | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 17 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 16 |
| Finance | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Marketing | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Dance | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 13 |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Biomedical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Security Science and Technology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Healthcare Administration | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Fine Arts | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Educational Administration | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Security Science and Technology | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Educational Administration | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Microbiological Sciences and Immunology | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| History | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Education | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Special Education | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Special Education | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Biology | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Educational Administration | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Educational/Instructional Media Design | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Educational/Instructional Media Design | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Student Counseling and Personnel Services | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Student Counseling and Personnel Services | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Mathematics | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Physical and Occupational Therapy | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Education | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $32,204 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology