Washington and Lee University
Lexington, Virginia · Private, nonprofit
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical Virginia high-school graduate (about $36,613 a year).
5 of 34 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 29: 28 with no earnings published and 1 with nothing reported. The 1 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$23,781 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$23,781 a year
About $95,124 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
A negative net price means grant aid exceeded the published cost for that income band: a typical student received more than they paid. It is what ED reports, not an error.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | -$1,777 |
| $30k to $48k | $75 |
| $48k to $75k | $4,497 |
| $75k to $110k | $8,162 |
| $110k and up | $40,646 |
| All families (average) | $23,781 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical Virginia high-school graduate ($36,613 a year).
6 of 35 programs could be assessed 17% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Law | First Professional Degree | $110,606 | +$73,993 | above HS line | $97,335 | 1.3 yrs | 107 |
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $121,699 | +$85,086 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 96 |
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | $95,190 | +$58,577 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 70 |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | $115,837 | +$79,224 | clears the bar | $23,399 | 0.3 yrs | 67 |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | $118,946 | +$82,333 | clears the bar | $16,750 | 0.2 yrs | 40 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | $100,087 | +$63,474 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 17 |
| Research Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 30 |
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 29 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 24 |
| Neuroscience | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 22 |
| Natural Resources and Conservation | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 21 |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 20 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 20 |
| Sociology and Anthropology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 16 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Public Relations and Advertising | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Fine Arts | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Engineering, General | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Engineering Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Philosophy | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Journalism | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Geology and Earth Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Physics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Theatre | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Area Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Medieval and Renaissance Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Engineering Physics | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $36,613 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology