University of Hawaii at Hilo
Hilo, Hawaii · Public
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical Hawaii high-school graduate (about $36,976 a year). 1 falls short.
13 of 51 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 38: 20 with no earnings published and 18 with nothing reported. 1 verdict uses 1-year earnings, an earlier career stage. The 14 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$11,856 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$11,856 a year
About $47,424 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $8,983 |
| $30k to $48k | $9,243 |
| $48k to $75k | $11,535 |
| $75k to $110k | $14,734 |
| $110k and up | $17,403 |
| All families (average) | $11,856 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical Hawaii high-school graduate ($36,976 a year).
17 of 65 programs could be assessed 26% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | $51,061 | +$14,085 | clears the bar | $18,751 | 1.3 yrs | 67 |
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $54,330 | +$17,354 | clears the bar | $17,000 | 1.0 yrs | 59 |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | Bachelor's Degree | $39,528 | +$2,552 | clears the bar | $20,115 | 7.9 yrs | 46 |
| Pharmacy | Bachelor's Degree | $131,134 | +$94,158 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 40 |
| Pharmacy | First Professional Degree | $131,918 | +$94,942 | above HS line | $218,140 | 2.3 yrs | 40 |
| Communications and Media | Bachelor's Degree | $41,750 | +$4,774 | clears the bar | $20,505 | 4.3 yrs | 37 |
| Nursing | Bachelor's Degree | $111,027 | +$74,051 | clears the bar | $18,000 | 0.2 yrs | 37 |
| Criminal Justice | Bachelor's Degree | $38,185 | +$1,209 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 36 |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Bachelor's Degree | $48,783 | +$11,807 | clears the bar | $21,841 | 1.8 yrs | 33 |
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | $54,200 | +$17,224 | clears the bar | $22,000 | 1.3 yrs | 24 |
| Natural Resources and Conservation | Master's Degree | $57,469 | +$20,493 | above HS line | $36,000 | 1.8 yrs | 22 |
| Agriculture, General | Bachelor's Degree | $44,096 | +$7,120 | clears the bar | $21,500 | 3.0 yrs | 18 |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | $39,582 | +$2,606 | clears the bar | $21,662 | 8.3 yrs | 16 |
| Geography and Cartography | Bachelor's Degree | $30,2931-year earnings | -$6,683 | falls short (1-yr) | $21,182 | no earnings gain | 14 |
| Natural Resources and Conservation | Bachelor's Degree | $47,534 | +$10,558 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Master's Degree | $59,655 | +$22,679 | above HS line | $26,760 | 1.2 yrs | 10 |
| Nursing | Doctoral Degree | $120,7371-year earnings | +$83,761 | above HS line (1-yr) | not published | not assessed | not published |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 18 |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 16 |
| Anthropology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Clinical and Counseling Psychology | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Nursing | First Professional Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Geology and Earth Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Fine Arts | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Area Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Southeast Asian and Australasian/Pacific Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Physics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Philosophy | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Air Transportation | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| American Indian/Native American Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Southeast Asian and Australasian/Pacific Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Historic Preservation and Conservation | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Natural Sciences | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Agriculture, General | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Area Studies | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Education | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Bilingual, Multilingual, and Multicultural Education | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| American Indian/Native American Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Doctoral Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| American Indian/Native American Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| English | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Botany/Plant Biology | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Mathematics | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Geology and Earth Science | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Fine Arts | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Pharmacy | Doctoral Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $36,976 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology