Furman University
Greenville, South Carolina · Private, nonprofit
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical South Carolina high-school graduate (about $34,809 a year). 2 fall short.
10 of 48 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 38: 36 with no earnings published and 2 with nothing reported. 3 verdicts use 1-year earnings, an earlier career stage. The 12 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$30,308 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$30,308 a year
About $121,232 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $16,401 |
| $30k to $48k | $17,290 |
| $48k to $75k | $21,041 |
| $75k to $110k | $27,736 |
| $110k and up | $39,310 |
| All families (average) | $30,308 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical South Carolina high-school graduate ($34,809 a year).
11 of 60 programs could be assessed 18% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | $74,476 | +$39,667 | clears the bar | $27,000 | 0.7 yrs | 58 |
| Communications and Media | Bachelor's Degree | $64,014 | +$29,205 | clears the bar | $22,631 | 0.8 yrs | 47 |
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $73,099 | +$38,290 | clears the bar | $19,500 | 0.5 yrs | 45 |
| Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | $57,264 | +$22,455 | clears the bar | $26,798 | 1.2 yrs | 42 |
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | $28,8011-year earnings | -$6,008 | falls short (1-yr) | $20,773 | no earnings gain | 36 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | $52,225 | +$17,416 | clears the bar | $20,500 | 1.2 yrs | 30 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | $60,280 | +$25,471 | clears the bar | $26,955 | 1.1 yrs | 27 |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | $55,6151-year earnings | +$20,806 | clears the bar (1-yr) | $24,125 | 1.2 yrs | 19 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | $16,5831-year earnings | -$18,226 | falls short (1-yr) | not published | not assessed | 17 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Master's Degree | $52,487 | +$17,678 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other | Bachelor's Degree | $61,904 | +$27,095 | clears the bar | $21,538 | 0.8 yrs | 6 |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 55 |
| Educational Administration | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 26 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | $26,036 | not assessed | 21 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 18 |
| Philosophy | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 17 |
| Area Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 16 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 16 |
| Fine Arts | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 16 |
| Health/Medical Preparatory Programs | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Sustainability Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Geology and Earth Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Public Health | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Education | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Design | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Information Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Neuroscience | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Anthropology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Education | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Special Education | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Chemistry | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Urban Studies/Affairs | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Educational Administration | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Physics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Theatre | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Natural Resources and Conservation | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Curriculum and Instruction | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Engineering, Other | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Mathematics and Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Classical and Ancient Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Data Analytics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Film and Photography | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Computer and Information Science | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Applied Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $34,809 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology