Houghton University
Houghton, New York · Private, nonprofit
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical New York high-school graduate (about $35,746 a year). 1 falls short.
4 of 43 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 39: 35 with no earnings published and 4 with nothing reported. The 3 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$20,519 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$20,519 a year
About $82,076 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $19,147 |
| $30k to $48k | $18,503 |
| $48k to $75k | $19,312 |
| $75k to $110k | $19,974 |
| $110k and up | $22,424 |
| All families (average) | $20,519 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical New York high-school graduate ($35,746 a year).
4 of 46 programs could be assessed 9% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $60,393 | +$24,647 | clears the bar | $21,450 | 0.9 yrs | 25 |
| Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | $37,822 | +$2,076 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 22 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Associate's Degree | $31,881 | -$3,865 | falls short | not published | not assessed | 21 |
| Communications and Media | Bachelor's Degree | $45,134 | +$9,388 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | $28,000 | not assessed | 29 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 20 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 13 |
| Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Business Administration | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Area Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Computer and Information Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Theology and Ministry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Bible/Biblical Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Physics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Fine Arts | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Music | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Human Resources | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Design | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Natural Resources and Conservation | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Information Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Criminal Justice | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Marketing | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Electrical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Philosophy | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Theology and Ministry | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Psychology | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Business | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Agricultural and Domestic Animal Services | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering Physics | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $35,746 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology