Dakota State University
Madison, South Dakota · Public
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical South Dakota high-school graduate (about $36,976 a year).
10 of 43 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 33: 29 with no earnings published and 4 with nothing reported. 1 verdict uses 1-year earnings, an earlier career stage. The 15 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$21,057 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$21,057 a year
About $84,228 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $17,317 |
| $30k to $48k | $18,792 |
| $48k to $75k | $19,165 |
| $75k to $110k | $22,601 |
| $110k and up | $23,269 |
| All families (average) | $21,057 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical South Dakota high-school graduate ($36,976 a year).
11 of 58 programs could be assessed 19% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| IT Administration and Management | Bachelor's Degree | $78,637 | +$41,661 | clears the bar | $24,000 | 0.6 yrs | 119 |
| Computer and Information Science | Master's Degree | $137,285 | +$100,309 | above HS line | not published | not assessed | 64 |
| Computer and Information Science | Bachelor's Degree | $85,696 | +$48,720 | clears the bar | $20,059 | 0.4 yrs | 62 |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | Bachelor's Degree | $42,513 | +$5,537 | clears the bar | $27,000 | 4.9 yrs | 30 |
| Information Science | Bachelor's Degree | $56,991 | +$20,015 | clears the bar | $19,343 | 1.0 yrs | 19 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Bachelor's Degree | $41,1191-year earnings | +$4,143 | clears the bar (1-yr) | $25,500 | 6.2 yrs | 19 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Bachelor's Degree | $48,997 | +$12,021 | clears the bar | $23,500 | 2.0 yrs | 17 |
| Special Education | Bachelor's Degree | $46,095 | +$9,119 | clears the bar | $27,625 | 3.0 yrs | 11 |
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $69,841 | +$32,865 | clears the bar | $20,508 | 0.6 yrs | 10 |
| Healthcare Administration | Associate's Degree | $49,821 | +$12,845 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Business Administration | Associate's Degree | $57,912 | +$20,936 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Information Science | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 40 |
| IT Administration and Management | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 30 |
| IT Administration and Management | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 22 |
| Computer and Information Science | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 20 |
| IT Administration and Management | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 18 |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 17 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 15 |
| Information Science | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 9 |
| Educational/Instructional Media Design | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Healthcare Administration | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Marketing | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Information Science | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Computer Software and Media Applications | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| IT Administration and Management | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Intelligence, Command Control and Information Operations | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Information Science | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Finance | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Healthcare Administration | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Information Science | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Mathematics | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Business Administration | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Accounting | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Statistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Physical Sciences, General | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Design | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Computer and Information Science | Doctoral Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| IT Administration and Management | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| English Language and Literature/Letters, Other | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Mathematics | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Medical Illustration and Informatics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Accounting | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Educational Administration | Doctoral Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Design | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostics and Treatment | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Allied Health Diagnostics and Treatment | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $36,976 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology