SOWELA Technical Community College
Lake Charles, Louisiana · Public
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical Louisiana high-school graduate (about $34,350 a year). 1 falls short.
11 of 42 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 31: 29 with no earnings published and 2 with nothing reported. 2 verdicts use 1-year earnings, an earlier career stage.
Average net price, all families$7,525 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$7,525 a year
About $7,525 over 1 year, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $7,439 |
| $30k to $48k | $6,864 |
| $48k to $75k | $8,411 |
| $75k to $110k | $8,407 |
| All families (average) | $7,525 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical Louisiana high-school graduate ($34,350 a year).
11 of 42 programs could be assessed 26% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrician Training | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $63,577 | +$29,227 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 265 |
| Electrician Training | Associate's Degree | $52,0831-year earnings | +$17,733 | clears the bar (1-yr) | not published | not assessed | 92 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | Associate's Degree | $127,701 | +$93,351 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 89 |
| Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians | Associate's Degree | $91,057 | +$56,707 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 82 |
| Practical and Vocational Nursing | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | $46,806 | +$12,456 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 55 |
| Nursing | Associate's Degree | $71,515 | +$37,165 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 44 |
| Business | Associate's Degree | $45,091 | +$10,741 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 34 |
| Computer and Information Science | Associate's Degree | $30,3601-year earnings | -$3,990 | falls short (1-yr) | not published | not assessed | 20 |
| Criminal Justice | Associate's Degree | $35,884 | +$1,534 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 18 |
| Accounting | Associate's Degree | $47,669 | +$13,319 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Associate's Degree | $55,019 | +$20,669 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 13 |
| Electromechanical Technologies/Technicians | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 189 |
| Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 176 |
| Administrative and Office Support | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 149 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 142 |
| Culinary Arts | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 113 |
| Precision Metalworking | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 113 |
| Computer and Information Science | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 83 |
| Auto Repair Technology | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 78 |
| Business | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 77 |
| Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 38 |
| Accounting | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 38 |
| Criminal Justice | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 37 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 27 |
| Carpenters | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 26 |
| Practical and Vocational Nursing | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 26 |
| Physical Science Technologies/Technicians | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 25 |
| Plumbing and Related Water Supply Services | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Allied Health Diagnostics and Treatment | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 10 |
| Forestry | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Physical Science Technologies/Technicians | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Culinary Arts | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Design | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Administrative and Office Support | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Auto Repair Technology | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Precision Metalworking | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Design | Associate's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Medical Laboratory Science | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Building/Construction Finishing, Management, and Inspection | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Computer Programming | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications | Associate's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $34,350 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology