Salem College
Winston-Salem, North Carolina · Private, nonprofit
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical North Carolina high-school graduate (about $34,059 a year).
4 of 36 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 32: 24 with no earnings published and 8 with nothing reported. The 8 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$18,277 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$18,277 a year
About $73,108 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $19,074 |
| $30k to $48k | $16,001 |
| $48k to $75k | $16,147 |
| $75k to $110k | $19,940 |
| $110k and up | $24,027 |
| All families (average) | $18,277 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical North Carolina high-school graduate ($34,059 a year).
5 of 44 programs could be assessed 11% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Student Counseling and Personnel Services | Master's Degree | $61,499 | +$27,440 | above HS line | $51,305 | 1.9 yrs | 15 |
| Business Administration | Bachelor's Degree | $68,431 | +$34,372 | clears the bar | $27,000 | 0.8 yrs | 13 |
| Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | $49,464 | +$15,405 | clears the bar | $24,250 | 1.6 yrs | 10 |
| Education | Bachelor's Degree | $47,488 | +$13,429 | clears the bar | $23,250 | 1.7 yrs | 4 |
| Criminal Justice | Bachelor's Degree | $45,560 | +$11,501 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Design | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Fine Arts | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 8 |
| Teacher Education (by level) | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Educational Administration | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 5 |
| Teacher Education (by subject) | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Music | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Communications and Media | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Special Education | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | $26,750 | not assessed | 3 |
| Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Kinesiology and Physical Education | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Visual and Performing Arts, General | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Health/Medical Preparatory Programs | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Health Professions Education, Ethics, and Humanities | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Music | Graduate/Professional Certificate | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Health Sciences | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Natural Resources and Conservation | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Business Administration | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Biological and Physical Sciences | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Historic Preservation and Conservation | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Dance | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Music | Post-baccalaureate Certificate | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Accounting | Undergraduate Certificate or Diploma | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| International Business | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $34,059 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology