Grinnell College
Grinnell, Iowa · Private, nonprofit
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical Iowa high-school graduate (about $37,130 a year). 3 fall short.
12 of 31 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 19: 18 with no earnings published and 1 with nothing reported. 2 verdicts use 1-year earnings, an earlier career stage.
Average net price, all families$17,648 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$17,648 a year
About $70,592 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $9,970 |
| $30k to $48k | $7,789 |
| $48k to $75k | $9,669 |
| $75k to $110k | $19,348 |
| $110k and up | $37,725 |
| All families (average) | $17,648 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical Iowa high-school graduate ($37,130 a year).
12 of 31 programs could be assessed 39% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | $109,892 | +$72,762 | clears the bar | $16,125 | 0.2 yrs | 62 |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | $110,724 | +$73,594 | clears the bar | $16,500 | 0.2 yrs | 54 |
| Biology | Bachelor's Degree | $56,275 | +$19,145 | clears the bar | $17,500 | 0.9 yrs | 43 |
| Political Science | Bachelor's Degree | $68,518 | +$31,388 | clears the bar | $17,500 | 0.6 yrs | 40 |
| Sociology | Bachelor's Degree | $28,2161-year earnings | -$8,914 | falls short (1-yr) | $16,000 | no earnings gain | 36 |
| Biochemistry and Molecular Biology | Bachelor's Degree | $53,105 | +$15,975 | clears the bar | $16,549 | 1.0 yrs | 35 |
| English | Bachelor's Degree | $36,854 | -$276 | falls short | $17,582 | no earnings gain | 34 |
| Research Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | $57,752 | +$20,622 | clears the bar | $17,702 | 0.9 yrs | 24 |
| Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | $54,983 | +$17,853 | clears the bar | $17,814 | 1.0 yrs | 23 |
| History | Bachelor's Degree | $54,703 | +$17,573 | clears the bar | $17,500 | 1.0 yrs | 12 |
| Fine Arts | Bachelor's Degree | $20,1111-year earnings | -$17,019 | falls short (1-yr) | $16,750 | no earnings gain | 9 |
| Liberal Arts and General Studies | Bachelor's Degree | $59,638 | +$22,508 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | not published |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 33 |
| Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 17 |
| Physics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 17 |
| Anthropology | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 14 |
| Philosophy | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 12 |
| Music | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Germanic Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Classics and Classical Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Religion/Religious Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Chemistry | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Theatre | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Interdisciplinary Studies | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Slavic, Baltic and Albanian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 3 |
| Biological and Biomedical Sciences, Other | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services, Other | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Mathematics and Statistics, Other | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 1 |
| Psychology, Other | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 0 |
| Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $37,130 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology