The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art
New York, New York · Private, nonprofit
Graduate earnings
have graduates earning more than a typical New York high-school graduate (about $35,746 a year). 1 falls short.
4 of 8 undergraduate programs could be assessed. The other 4: 3 with no earnings published and 1 with nothing reported. The 6 graduate programs are in the table.
Average net price, all families$13,269 a year By family income
What it would cost
Net price is the yearly cost after grants and scholarships, as reported for students who received federal aid.
Average for all families
$13,269 a year
About $53,076 over 4 years, if price and aid stay the same.
This multiplies the reported yearly net price by the years you choose. It is not a quote or a prediction: it leaves out interest, price rises and the chance of taking longer to finish.
Net price for every income band
| Family income | Net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $3,749 |
| $30k to $48k | $6,904 |
| $48k to $75k | $10,457 |
| $75k to $110k | $16,682 |
| $110k and up | $25,870 |
| All families (average) | $13,269 |
College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Bands with no figure were not reported by the school.
Program earnings
Median earnings of each program’s graduates against a typical New York high-school graduate ($35,746 a year).
4 of 14 programs could be assessed 29% have an earnings verdict
| Program | Degree | Median earnings | vs a high-school grad | Verdict | Median debt | Debt as years of gain | Recent completers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Bachelor's Degree | $24,920 | -$10,826 | falls short | $17,250 | no earnings gain | 46 |
| Civil Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | $108,466 | +$72,720 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 27 |
| Electrical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | $139,068 | +$103,322 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 26 |
| Chemical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | $100,191 | +$64,445 | clears the bar | not published | not assessed | 21 |
| Architecture | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 30 |
| Mechanical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 24 |
| Electrical Engineering | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 11 |
| Civil Engineering | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 7 |
| Engineering, General | Bachelor's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 6 |
| Chemical Engineering | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/Technicians | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 4 |
| Mechanical Engineering | Master's Degree | not published | not assessed | earnings not published | not published | not assessed | 2 |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | Bachelor's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| Astronomy and Astrophysics | Master's Degree | not reported | not reported | nothing reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
Sources and definitions
- U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard, release 2026-06-10. Earnings are medians for graduates who received federal aid. Debt is federal loans only.
- The high-school line is ED’s state benchmark, $35,746 a year.
- Earnings not published: ED reports the program but no earnings figure, usually because too few graduates were measured. Nothing reported: ED lists the program with no figures at all. Neither is a judgement of the program.
- Debt as years of gain is median federal debt divided by how much more graduates earn per year than a typical high-school graduate. It is not a repayment time.
Compare with another college · Report an error · Methodology